A Writer’s Life!

Good evening everyone from this storm ravaged Irish coast. It has been a while since I have posted anything on my blog and I really apologise about that! Life has been so hectic recently…

First on my mind (as ever!) is my current writing project – ‘Neon Lights’ – I get so obsessed by and involved in whatever piece I am working on and at the minute it is the world of Dis which I have created to host my series of dark future neo-noir detective novels. Currently I’m on the ‘run’ – as I call it – of trying to write 2000 words a day – something that I have been looking forward to getting into for some time now. I learnt a lot from creating, writing, editing and publishing my first book – ‘City of Darkness’ – it was a wonderful experience and much thanks goes out to the team at Troubador (thanks for your patience Naomi for my repeated re edits late on in the game!) I did learn a great deal about the industry that my years as an English teacher (English teachers are all writers right?) did not prepare me for! Time was the major issue – I just could not let go of my baby – always finding issues, often the tiniest of things – to change before the print run and although the book has benefitted from it – I am so happy with the outcome – it has delayed my other projects which I am itching to get out there! So then, on with ‘Neon Lights’ – its about 50% finished – so look out for it!

Just a quick word on City of Darkness – much thanks goes out to friends and family for the launch and I am very humbled with the very positive reviews that have come from all across the globe so far. Pick up a copy at http://www.dpwrightauthor.co.uk and have a look at the news and reviews which are being updated as I type!

Leave a comment