Five Books That Changed My Life

So far this year life has been particularly busy – I am getting married in October – a wedding that started off being a ‘lets just get married on a beach in Thailand and keep it simple’ to a Surrey wedding in a 400 year old Tudor barn with a large guest list (the numbers keep getting bigger). I have my first book getting published and all the marketing and book launch organising that comes along with that as well as trying to write my second one. And through this all I work another job as well but I shouldn’t complain – being busy is good right? However with all this going on what I did realise was that my reading – such an important part of my life and a very enjoyable part too – had fallen by the wayside. This year has flown in so fast and I think I can count on one hand how many books I have read (that have not been my own writing). So with promises to rectify this as soon as possible and find the time to read more I reflected on the books which have been so influential in my own life up until now.

1. ‘The Hobbit’ and ‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J.R.R.Tolkien.
Ok. I know what you are thinking. These are a no brainer and everyone would have them on their list (or..shudder…have only seen the movies and not bothered with the books…). Despite being a bit of a cliché these days – The above books fuelled my love of the fantasy genre. I remember reading both novels one summer a long time ago- 5 days when I was 10 years old – my mother was worried about me as I hardly ate, drank or slept at all, I wHobbit-coveras so engrossed in the story! Tolkien’s writing is excellent- with colourful characters, strong plot all with a detailed and exciting setting. I loved Tolkien’s narrative – those long paragraphs full of description – a technique lost on many writers today. A few years back, whilst teaching English Literature, a published author visited the school to speak to the junior classes about being a writer. Afterwards I spoke to him and he said the key to making money was to fill your books with a conversation – very little descriptive writing – it makes the process very easy and quick to finish. Now as much as I respect him I felt that the art of writing was taking a step backwards with this practice. Tolkien’s work (especially his writing technique) has been a constant inspiration to me and has shaped my writing technique – both as a writer and as a teacher.

2. ‘The Dragon Lance Chronicles’ by Margret Weis and Tracy Hickman
One of the first fantasy series that I ever read. I still hold dear the journey that I went on with the characters Raistlin, Caramon, TDragon Lanceanis, Tasslehoff, Flint ect. The Chronicles trilogy relates to events from when all the companions meet up in a classic ‘adventurers coming together style’ to the end of the War of the Lance. As well as a great setting and character development (much like Tolkien) I always remember how Weis and Hickman came up with the idea for their popular novels – on the way to an interview with TSR where they played games of Dungeon and Dragons and it was frAll Quietom those adventures they created the setting – the world of Krynn and the War of the Lance. During my own development as a writer this story has always inspired me to look for inspiration in everything I do.

3. ‘All Quiet on the Western Front’ by Erich Maria Remarque
This little gem of a book has been and will always be in my top 10 most favourite books. It fuelled my love of historical fiction (or not so fiction). Remarque takes us on a journey with a group of friends fighting in the trenches for the German army during World War 1. Undoubtedly helped by his own experiences as a soldier during the first World War, Remarque describes the fears, loves and losses of his characters to perfection and skilfully portrays the chaos and human tragedy of the war.

4. ‘The Last of the Mohicans’ by James Fenimore Cooper
Set in 1757 during the French and Indian War when Great Britain battled the French for territory in the Amerthe-last-of-the-mohicans-part-2-1-0-1277170458icas. The novel describes the relationship between the colonists and their Native American allies and takes us on a wild adventure with Hawkeye and his loyal Mohican friends Chingachook and Uncas. When innocent settlers are attacked by hostile savages and the beautiful Munro sisters are abducted, Cooper takes the reader on a non-stop wild adventure that combines excitement and also fear of the brutality of life in the frontier. Cooper’s ability to not only take the reader on a rollercoaster ride but also describe in vivid, exquisite detail the end of an era and a way of life brilliantly combines excitement, horror and an overwhelming sadness as the reader reaches the book’s tumultuous end.

5. ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ by Philip K Dick.
My first real flurry into science fiction was by reading Philip K Dick and I have to admit that I could havAndroidse chosen near enough any of his books as most have been of great influence to me over the years. ‘Electric Sheep’ is set in a post – apocalyptic near future where human struggle to survive post nuclear war. Rick Deckard is a bounty hunter charged with tracking down and exterminating six escaped Nexus 6 androids (most people will know the basic story through the film Blade Runner). The story asks questions about what it means to be human and like all of Dick’s novels, explores questions of social responsibility.

Writing this list of 5 most influential books has proved particularly tough as I have realised that there are far more books which I hold dear and could easily have included! Hence I will probably do another one in the near future to satisfy my conscience!

Please visit my website – http://www.dpwrightauthor.co.uk – for more news and biz about me!

Leave a comment